25.04.2019

Common criticisms about parapsychology

Constructive criticism is essential in science and is welcomed by the majority of active psi researchers. Strong skepticism is expected, and many parapsychologists are far more skeptical about psi than most scientists realize.

However, it is not generally appreciated that some of the more vocal criticisms about psi are actually “pseudo-criticisms.” That is, the more barbed, belligerent criticisms occasionally asserted by some skeptics are often issued from such strongly held, prejudicial positions that the criticisms are not offered as constructive suggestions, but as authoritarian proofs of the impossibility of psi.

It is commonly supposed by non-scientists that skeptical debates over the merits of psi research follow the standards of scholarly discussions. Unfortunately, this is not always the case. Disparaging rhetoric and ad hominem attacks arise too often in debates about psi. The social science of parapsychology, and the way that science treats anomalies in general, is a fascinating topic that starkly illuminates the very human side of how science really works.

Criticism 1: Apparently successful experimental results are actually due to sloppy procedures, poorly trained researchers, methodological flaws, selective reporting, and statistics problems. There is therefore not a shred of scientific evidence for psi phenomena.

Response: These issues have been addressed in detail by meta-analytic reviews of the experimental literature . The results unambiguously demonstrate that successful experiments cannot be explained away by these criticisms. In fact, research by Harvard University specialists in scientific methods showed that the best experimental psi research today is not only conducted according to proper scientific standards, but usually adheres to more rigorous protocols than are found in contemporary research in both the social and physical sciences. In addition, over the years there have been a number of very effective rebuttals of criticisms of individual studies, and within the past decade, experimental procedures have been developed that address virtually all methodological criticisms, even the possibility of fraud and collusion, by including skeptics in the experimental procedures.

Criticism 2: Psi phenomena violate basic limiting principles of science, and are therefore impossible.

Response: Twenty years ago, this criticism was a fairly common retort to claims of psi phenomena. Today, with advancements in many scientific disciplines, the scientific worldview is rapidly changing, and the basic limiting principles are constantly being redefined. In addition, the substantial empirical database in parapsychology now presents anomalies that simply won’t “go away,” thus this criticism is no longer persuasive and is slowly disappearing. Given the rate of change in science today, assigning psi to the realm of the impossible now seems imprudent at best, foolish at worst.

Criticism 3: Parapsychology does not have a “repeatable” experiment.

Response: When many people talk about a repeatable psi experiment, they usually have in mind an experiment like those conducted in elementary physics classes to demonstrate the acceleration of gravity, or simple chemical reactions. In such experiments, where there are relatively few, well-known and well-controllable variables, the experiments can be performed by practically anyone, anytime, and they will work. But insisting on this level of repeatability is inappropriate for parapsychology, or for that matter, for most social or behavioral science experiments. Psi experiments usually involve many variables, some of which are poorly understood and difficult or impossible to directly control. Under these circumstances, scientists use statistical arguments to demonstrate “repeatability” instead of the common, but restrictive view that “If it’s real, I should be able to do it whenever I want.”

Under the assumption that there is no such thing as psi, we would expect that about 5% of well-conducted psi experiments would be declared “successful” (i.e., statistically significant) by pure chance. But suppose that in a series of 100 actual psi experiments we consistently observed that 20 were successful. This is extremely unlikely to occur by chance, suggesting that psi was present in some of those studies. However, it also means that in any particular experiment, there is an 80% probability of “failure.” Thus, if a critic set out to repeat a psi experiment to see if the phenomenon was “real,” and the experiment failed, it would obviously be incorrect to claim on the basis of that single experiment that psi is not real because it is not repeatable.

A widely accepted method of assessing repeatability in experiments is called meta-analysis. This quantitative technique is heavily used in the social, behavioral and medical sciences to integrate research results of numerous independent experiments. Starting around 1985, meta-analyses have been conducted on numerous types of psi experiments. In many of these analyses, results indicate that the outcomes were not due to chance, or methodological flaws, or selective reporting practices, or any other plausible “normal” explanations. What remains is psi, and in several experimental realms, it has clearly been replicated by independent investigators.

© The Parapsychological Association. All rights reserved. Original: http://parapsych.org/section/36/frequently_asked_questions.aspx

Featured articles

Links:ブランドコピー高い品質など世界中有名なブランドレプリカを格安で通販しております。N級品ブランドコピーは 業界で最高な品質に挑戦します!激安 ルイヴィトンバッグレプリカ,ルイヴィトンバッグ ブランドコピー激安財布バッグ、ブランドコピー通販 スーパーコピー激安 財布, ブランドコピー激安代引き楽天市場。

25.04.2019

Распространенная критика в адрес парапсихологии

Конструктивная критика очень важна для развития науки и всячески приветствуется исследователями-парапсихологами. Исходя из предмета изучения, скептицизм вполне понятен и ожидаем; в то же время, многие парапсихологи сами гораздо более скептичны в отношении паранормальных явлений, чем считает большинство ученых.

Далеко не все понимают, что значительная часть этой критики в действительности является лишь «псевдокритикой». Увы, наиболее острая и вопиющая критика зачастую преподносится с настолько твердых, предосудительных позиций, что в ней нет ничего конструктивного и полезного для развития парапсихологии. Это касается авторитарных мнений некоторых скептиков, полагающих, что паранормальных явлений нет и быть не может. Цитируя А.П. Чехова «потому что этого не может быть никогда».

Неспециалисты зачастую полагают, что скептические споры о парапсихологических исследованиях следует всем стандартам академических дискуссий. К сожалению, это далеко не всегда так. Слишком часто во время подобных споров звучат уничижительные неуважительные нападки в адрес парапсихологии, основанные преимущественно на предубеждениях и личной неприязни. Тем не менее, парапсихология является очень увлекательным направлением исследований, раскрывающим скрытые стороны человеческой психики и деятельности, включая даже то, как на самом деле работает наука (например, эффект экспериментатора).

Критика №1. Положительные экспериментальные результаты являются следствием недостаточно аккуратных экспериментов, плохо обученных исследователей, методологических ошибок, выборочного показа и погрешностей при статистической обработке. Таким образом, парапсихологи имеют слишком мало научных доказательств реальности паранормальных явлений.

Ответ. Эти замечания неоднократно тщательно рассматривались в обзорных мета-анализах экспериментальных статей. Данные этих статей вполне однозначно показывают, что успешные эксперименты не могут быть полностью объяснены методологическими ошибками. Более того, исследование, проведенное специалистами по научной методологии из Гарвардского университета, показало, что лучшие из парапсихологических исследований не только проведены в соответствии с основными научными стандартами, но порой спланированы даже тщательнее, чем большинство социальных и естественнонаучных исследований. За последние годы написано массу опровержений на критику отдельных парапсихологических исследований, и, более того, в последнее десятилетие разработаны экспериментальные подходы, которые учитывают всю предыдущую критику, включая даже возможность обмана и сговора, за счет приглашения скептиков в качестве наблюдателей.

Критика №2. Паранормальные явления выходят за рамки допустимого с научной точки зрения, поэтому они невозможны.

Ответ. Еще двадцать лет назад это мнение очень часто звучало в ответ на заявления о существовании паранормальных феноменов. В нынешнее же время, со стремительным развитием множества дисциплин научная картина мира меняется достаточно быстро, в том числе допустимые ею рамки возможного постоянно расширяются. Более того, накопленная за прошедшее время база данных парапсихологических исследований четко указывает на реально существование некоторых паранормальных явлений, и, таким образом, подобная критика более не является состоятельной и постепенно исчезает. Учитывая нынешнюю скорость развития науки, продолжать относить паранормальные явления к вымыслу, по меньшей мере, неразумно.

Критика №3. В парапсихологии нет повторяемых экспериментов.

Ответ. Говоря о повторяемых парапсихологических экспериментах, скептики обычно имеют в виду эксперименты наподобие тех, что проводятся на лабораторных занятиях по физике или химии в школе. В таких экспериментах, где количество переменных известно и невелико, опыт может быть проведен практически любым человеком в любое время, и он сработает. Но подобный подход неприменим как в отношении парапсихологии, так и к большинству экспериментов социальных или поведенческих наук. В парапсихологических экспериментах обычно множество переменных, некоторые из которых мало изучены, а другие – сложно или практически невозможно контролировать. В этих условиях, ученые используют статистические аргументы, чтобы показать “повторяемость” вместо общего, но довольно ошибочного мнения “Если это реально существует, я должен иметь возможность повторить это, когда захочу.”

В случае, если бы не существовало никаких паранормальных явлений, то, согласно статистике, в 5% случаев можно было бы ожидать эксперимента, результаты которого можно расценивать как положительные, то есть, статистически значимые. В реальности же мы наблюдаем успешные эксперименты в 20% случаев. Очень маловероятно, что это случайность, из чего следует, что в некоторых из этих исследований паранормальные явления действительно имели место. Тем не менее, это также означает, что каждый последующий эксперимент с вероятностью в 80% даст отрицательный результат. Таким образом, если скептик решит повторить какой-то из парапсихологических экспериментов, что убедиться в том, что феномен действительно настоящий, и результат будет отрицательным, то совершенно очевидно, что на основе одного эксперимента нельзя утверждать, что паранормальных явлений не существует.

Широко признанным методом оценки повторяемости экспериментов является мета-анализ. Этот количественный метод используется преимущественно в социальных, поведенческих и медицинских науках для интеграции результатов многих отдельных исследований. Начиная с 1985 года, проведены мета-анализы для многих видов исследований паранормальных явлений. В многих из этих анализов установлено, что полученные в отдельных исследованиях результаты неслучайны; они также не связаны с методологическими погрешностями, избирательностью результатов или другими «нормальными» объяснениями. Причиной является именно проявление паранормальных феноменов, и в некоторых видах исследований это было четко доказано и повторено множество раз независимыми группами исследователей.

Рекомендуемые статьи

Недавно добавленное

Связь с нами

+380662435261
+380445995153
ukrparapsi@gmail.com

Links:ブランドコピー高い品質など世界中有名なブランドレプリカを格安で通販しております。N級品ブランドコピーは 業界で最高な品質に挑戦します!激安 ルイヴィトンバッグレプリカ,ルイヴィトンバッグ ブランドコピー激安財布バッグ、ブランドコピー通販 スーパーコピー激安 財布, ブランドコピー激安代引き楽天市場。